So You Think You Can Dance Premieres Monday, June 12 at 8/7c

Jana "Jaja" Vankova


Name: Jana "Jaja" Vankova

Age: 23

Team: #SYTYCDstreet

Dance Style: Krump

Audition City: Los Angeles, CA

Hometown: Ceska Kamenice, Czech Republic

Do you have any formal training? Very little.

Who would be your dream choreographer? Phillip Chbeeb, Chris Scott, NappyTabs, Sonya Tayeh, Travis Wall.

Who would be your dream Alumni SYTYCD partner? Emilio Dosal, Cyrus Spencer, Comfort Fedoke.

Which dancer from another season were you most inspired by? Emilio Dosal.

What was your reaction to making the Top 20: A lot of excitement, feeling blessed and thankful to know that hard work pays off.

What would people be most surprised to learn about you? I'm a good cook of Czech food. I was going to be a lawyer before dance changed up my life plans.

About the Show

Over the course of its 13 seasons, SO YOU THINK YOU CAN DANCE has received 55 Emmy Award nominations and garnered 14 Emmy Award wins, including Outstanding Choreography for Travis Wall (2015); Mia Michaels (2011, 2010 and 2007); Napoleon and Tabitha Dumo (2014 and 2011); Tyce Diorio (2009); and Wade Robson (2008 and 2007). The hit series also received awards in the category of Outstanding Costumes in 2014, 2010 and 2009, as well as awards in Outstanding Lighting Design in 2011 and 2012. In 2015, SO YOU THINK YOU CAN DANCE celebrated seven Emmy Award nominations, including repeat nods in the categories of Outstanding Reality - Competition Series and Outstanding Host for Reality or Reality-Competition Program (Cat Deeley). The series won a TEEN CHOICE Award in 2006 and a Television Critics Association Award in 2012 for Outstanding Achievement in Reality Programming; a Critics’ Choice Television Award in 2012 for the category of Best Reality Series - Competition; and won the Critics’ Choice Television Award for Best Reality Show Host in 2015 and 2012.

SO YOU THINK YOU CAN DANCE is from 19 Entertainment and dick clark productions. The series is executive-produced by its co-creator Nigel Lythgoe, Allen Shapiro, Barry Adelman and Jeff Thacker.